An Interview with… Rachele Whatever

The line-up for tonight’s (Tuesday 11th March) line-up for Solomon’s LIVE at Solomon Grundy’s includes Brighton-born, Manchester-living soundstress Rachele Whatever. I caught up with her ahead of the gig to get to know the woman behind the guitar…

 

Here’s how it went down:

1. How’d you get into music?

My gran bought me a guitar when I was 16 and it started from there. I used to get lessons from an old punk, but I never practised so I’d go and play him songs I’d made up instead.

2. Who, or what, inspires your music/sound?

My lyrics are generally quite topical or social commentary – I’ve never been able to write love songs! I have a song about dogging, one about crap jobs – a lot about politicians 

3. What social message or experience does your music try to evoke? 

I spent my teen years in Brighton – there was a lot of the free party vibe left over from the 90s and still a lot of “political” music then, and that’s the scene I started out in, the DIY punk/ska scene and the free party scene and I guess the Do It Yourself and question authority stuff has just stayed with me.

4. What is special to you about Manchester’s music scene? 

I like the way there’s little suburbs in Manchester with different crowds – you can play a city center gig one night then the next night be in Levenshulme and be playing to new people.  I’ve found in Manchester the best thing to do is start a night yourself.  I launched an events company with my friend Craig called Galivantes and our main club night is Swing & Shout – a 2 stage event with bands, DJs, jam sessions, swing dance lessons, face-painting and crazy décor… We’ve been overwhelmed by the support we’ve had so far. We started as there wasn’t much scope for gigs in the reggae/gypsy/ska punk scene and we wanted to offer well attended and paid gigs for bands outside Manchester.  The next Swing & Shout is on 19th April at Underland

5. Any particular gigs/releases that we can look forward to from you? 

Yes – I’m releasing 5 tracks with my jungle punk opera band Neghed through Ancoats based label Longevity Records. 

6. If you had to sum it up, what’s the Rachele Whatever dream? 

Lol me and my friends have a pirate ship stage with a 20k soundsystem – my dream would be travelling round the world to festivals with it performing and putting on events.   

 

Sounds amazing – can I come with you Rachele?!? Find her on the interwebs at these sites:

facebook.com/RacheleWhatever

facebook.com/pages/Neghed/231779143580775

and have a listen to some tunes below…

 

***Catch Rachele performing TONIGHT at Solomon’s LIVE from 7pm***

Leave a Reply

